Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

how long can i be offline? 10 years 9 months ago #1958

yesterday i started playing server11 citybuilder with 25.000 pop and my chousen town was Gundhattan Ridge , i spend like a few hours to play that and at 3.15am i went to bed i turn off the computer , now when i enter the server my ALL COMPANIE disapper but the city is still there ....

why? how long can i be offline ? i only went offline for about 11 hours

and no reset was made because player RED got all equal

do i need to LOGOUT with the code?
how many hours can i left the game?
  • LEmure
  • LEmure's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 2

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

how long can i be offline? 10 years 9 months ago #1959

Well on most of our servers we have an automatic reset policy for companies which can be seen in game by using the following command: !resetinfo

All servers have slightly different reset times depending on how popular they are to ensure free spaces at all times of the day if people have left their companies are no longer ingame.

For server 11 the automatic resets information is shown below.

Automatic reset: passworded: 24 month(s); not passworded: 12 month(s); no vehicles: 1 month(s)

Given that one year in OpenTTD is 13.505 minutes. This means that a 24 month passworded company would be reset after 27 minutes of not being in the game.

To avoid your company being autocleaned you should always be present in your company or make it up before the timer expires.

In your case of being offline for about 11 hours. You have had your company reset automatically. Also the typical length of the game for server 11 is much less than the 11 hours too. So by the time you came back on, possible 1 or even 2 more games could have been played in this time.

I hope this clears up the mystery of automatic resets for offline players
The following user(s) said Thank You: LEmure
  • cxc